Embertides for Organ

Embertides for Organ

Embertides for Organ


Embertides is a four-movement suite for organ based on the roughly equal divisions of the church year - Advent, Lent, Whitsun, and Michaelmas - which in turn hark back to earlier, secular traditions. Throughout, there are short references and hints to plainsong and other hymns relevant to the seasons. Drawing on a wide range of colours and textures, the composer creates an evocative and varied suite of pieces, perfectly suited for both recital and church performance; as such, the work will be welcomed by a wide range of players.

Forces or Category



Easy to Moderately difficult


Advent (Winter)
Lenten (Spring)
Whit (Summer)
Michaelmas (Autumn)

SKU: 9.78E+12